e-flux Conversations has been closed to new contributions and will remain online as an archive. Check out our new platform for short-form writing, e-flux Notes.

e-flux conversations

Boris Groys and Cai Guo-Qiang: A Conversation from a Studio Visit

March 4, 2017

Cai Guo-Qiang: These are my latest studies in painting. For decades, I worked with black gunpowder; as you can see, it produces a softer shade. These past few years, I started painting with color gunpowder, which is the material I have been using to create daytime fireworks. Some of these paintings are made with color gunpowder from Japan; others are made with color gunpowder from China.

Boris Groys: I saw your exhibition at the Guggenheim.

CGQ: Back then I was using black gunpowder. Color gunpowder is black gunpowder with colorants, to make daytime fireworks. You might be surprised to see that I am pursuing painting wholeheartedly these days.

BG: But you know, a lot of artists nowadays are going into painting again. Also my friends.

CGQ: Because we are facing a lot of uncertainties these days, and in comparison painting seems straightforward and simple—although it is not.

BG: Yeah, that’s true.

CGQ: For me, it’s also a good opportunity because I have a solo exhibition of paintings at the Prado Museum scheduled to open in October. I’ve created a very difficult challenge for myself, so now I have nowhere to retreat to.

BG: But actually, the images are very baroque. So they would fit into the Prado.

CGQ: I’m researching the techniques of El Greco, the mystique, liberty, and sensitivity in his paintings.

This one is inspired by a Goya painting.

BG: Yeah, this one is really baroque.

CGQ: Some of these paintings are made with black color gunpowder. It is different from the traditional gunpowder that I used before—it is dyed with black pigment, so it’s darker, more intense. This painting portrays the Tiananmen Gate. These paintings are sketches for the daytime fireworks on Red Square.