e-flux Conversations has been closed to new contributions and will remain online as an archive. Check out our new platform for short-form writing, e-flux Notes.

e-flux conversations

K8 Hardy: I feel like I’ve been hitting the glass ceiling for four or five years

For the current issue of ArtNews, artist K8 Hardy responds to a feature on calculating gender imbalance in the art world. She states that despite her frequent participation in art fairs and major group exhibitions, she has hit a glass ceiling in the market. Do you think this is a gender-based issue, or a more universal issue effecting artists who are past emerging but not evergreen? Read an excerpt below, or the full piece here.

It’s important that we continue to talk about the reality of the sexism in the art world. There’s a code of silence that envelops you once you get closer to being an insider. It’s crass to talk about sales, because artists are above sales. I feel so lucky to have had the success I’ve had that I’m hesitant to complain on a public platform. I’m not really sure if men feel this way, or if this hesitation and minimizing gratefulness is part of the female brainwashing. Of course, there’s an exception for everything, and this is part of what makes sexism in the art world so slippery. Art is so circumstantial, but the figures relay the reality.

At the moment, my work is in a few museum and private collections. However, I am not in the game of making six figures a year from being collected, or anywhere near that. Despite all the press and exposure I have, and despite having had my work in innumerable art fairs, it seems incredibly difficult to accumulate the momentum of really being collected or exhibited.