e-flux Conversations has been closed to new contributions and will remain online as an archive. Check out our new platform for short-form writing, e-flux Notes.

e-flux conversations

Ai Weiwei: "I'm an artist, not a priest"

http://cdn.thedailybeast.com/content/dailybeast/articles/2016/10/30/i-m-an-artist-not-a-priest-ai-weiwei-faces-his-fans-and-critics-in-brooklyn/jcr:content/body/inlineimage.img.800.jpg/49264590.cached.jpg

A panel discussion between artists Tania Bruguera and Ai Weiwei seemed to highlight Ai’s, um, theatrical side, according to the Daily Beast. While Bruguera was going about her business speaking about art and politics, Ai preferred to talk about selfies and evade serious questions, about for example the art world was in a furore over a photograph in which he posed as a drowned Turkish refugee toddler last year. Read Sarah Shears’ report in partial below, in full via the Daily Beast here.

Bruguera asked Ai where he now considers himself in the “political situation.” He said he has no clear party, since “I consider myself an individual,” which seemed an exceptionally American answer.

About his 1995 photographic and performance piece, Dropping a Han Dynasty Urn, in which he did just that, destroying the 2,000-year-old cultural artifact, one of many he had painted over, Ai said that while many people treated it as a serious statement it was “more or less of a joke.”

Brugera then asked his thoughts on the artist Maximo Caminero, who destroyed another of Ai’s own painted vases in the same manner while it was on display at an exhibition of the Chinese artist’s work at the Perez Art Museum in Miami. Ai said that Caminero had a “right to state his mind and do that gesture, but have to take responsibility for that gesture,” adding that “normally, you do that to your own property.”